[Translate to English:] View of the Rhön regionpreloader-image

About Hessen

Copyright Eye Icon© HA Hessen Tourismus, Roman Knie

Hessen at a glance

The federal state of Hessen, known in English as Hesse, is situated in west-central Germany.


Capital city: the elegant spa town of Wiesbaden, home to the seat of the federal government, the Hessen State Theatre, and 27 natural thermal springs

Other major cities:Frankfurt am Main, Kassel and Darmstadt

Neighbouring states: Lower Saxony to the north, Thuringia to the east, Bavaria to the southeast, Baden-Württemberg to the south, Rhineland-Palatinate to the west, and North Rhine-Westphalia to the northwest

UNESCO World Heritage: two World Natural Heritage Sites, four World Cultural Heritage Sites and five documents in the Memory of the World Register

Forests: 42% of Hessen is covered in forest

Highest Mountain: the Wasserkuppe in the Rhön region (950m/3100ft)

History: An overview of Hessen's history is available in English on the official Hessen state website